Day 1: After the plague

by jackconcannon

It’s not really the first day after the plague. I don’t know exactly when the viruses began crossing the globe and I don’t know when or if it’s ended. This is the first day I’ve decided to write a journal about what I do all day long to stay alive.

I guarantee you, imaginary reader, that I won’t keep up this journal. I’ll go full force for about a week and then slow down a little and one day, it will occur to me, that that haven’t written for months. I know myself pretty well and this is how I roll. But, and here is where it’s really unfair, you won’t know if I just lost interest in sitting down and writing or if I died.

How will I die if the viruses that killed everyone are gone? Good question and one that I obsess over nonstop. This is how I think I will die in no particular order.

1. Starvation

2. Wild dog attack.

3. Freezing

4. Someone shoots me for my food

5. I shoot myself either on purpose or by accident

6. I slip on the sidewalk and crack my skull.

I thought about the last one yesterday and started laughing to myself. I was walking down Park Avenue. It was freezing and the street was a sheet of ice because water mains have been bursting and I slipped. My feet went completely out from under me, like a cartoon, and I landed on my back. Luckily I was wearing a back pack so I didn’t break anything. Except the graham crackers (the good kind with the cinnamon on top)  that I found in a store I had looted a few hours before. It’s rare to find crackers that haven’t been eaten by rats. Anyway, the thought of surviving all the viruses that killed almost everyone in the world and then dying because I fell seemed funny. As I write this it occurs to me that it isn’t that funny and I might have laughed too much about it.

Maybe, I’m going to crazy.