Day 3- The Styman Military Academy

by jackconcannon

But what happened? How did everyone die?

Fair questions. I like to imagine that someone will find this journal in 100 years. Assuming that they are literate, I will try to give a first hand account of how 90% of the worlds population died. Here’s the problem, I’m an unreliable eyewitness.

For me it began at The Styman Military Academy. Pretty fancy school name, right? Don’t be fooled Styman is… was a place they sent juvenile delinquents. Reform through Discipline was their motto. Discipline- yes. Reform- no. It is- was a place where “youthful offenders” (sounds sweet, doesn’t it?) were court ordered to pay their debt to society.  In reality it was a warehouse for criminals to compare notes with other young criminals so they could become better criminals when they got out. And we marched in formation a lot.

I was sentenced to Styman from 14 years old to 17 years old. The fact that I’m a bit of a felon isn’t what makes me an unreliable eyewitness to the end of civilization. (Was it really all that civilized?) What makes me an unreliable witness is that I slept through Armageddon.